Broward County Passes New Florida Marijuana Law| 0
Broward County Reduces Penalties For Marijuana Possession
Florida marijuana law is changing again. The Broward County Commission, like Palm Beach, Key West, Hallandale, and St. Petersburg (see here), recently voted to reduce the penalties for those found in possession of Florida marijuana. The new ordinance allows police officers to issue civil citations instead of filing criminal charges against people carrying 20 grams or less of marijuana. The citations, which are up to police discretion, are set at $100 for the first offense, $250 for the second offense, and $500 for the third offense. The move away from prison sentences for the possession of small amounts of marijuana is spreading through Florida municipalities and fronts a recognition that prison time for small marijuana offenses causes prison overcrowding and can also lead to, perhaps unnecessary, felony records for otherwise good citizens. Civil citations will not be allowed, however, in circumstances where the marijuana is discovered in connection with the commission of another crime, such as in domestic violence or driving under the influence cases.
Florida Marijuana Law– Possession Still Punishable By Jail Time Under State Law
It is important to realize that, under Florida marijuana law (state law), the misdemeanor possession of marijuana still carries a potential punishment of up to 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine.