Florida Marijuana Laws — Tampa Decriminalizes Possession of Marijuana| 0
Update — the new Tampa marijuana law took effect as of April 1.
Tampa Joins Miami and Fort Lauderdale Areas In Decriminalizing Marijuana
The Tampa City Council has passed a new law that decriminalizes the possession of 20 grams or less of cannabis in Tampa. Those in possession of small amounts of marijuana now face a civil citation, similar to a traffic ticket, and a fine (instead of facing mandatory arrest or a potential jail sentence). Under the new Tampa law, police will have the option – and are encouraged – to hand out a civil citation instead of arrest. The fine would be $75 for the first offense, $150 for the second, $300 for the third, and any citation from that point onward would be $450. Tampa joins Miami-Dade and Broward Counties in decriminalizing the personal possession of small amounts of marijuana and confirms the trend of increasing marijuana legalization in Florida.
Marijuana Possession Still A Crime Under State Law
Currently, Florida state law holds that possession of 20 grams of less or marijuana is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. However, this is expected to change with the passage of a broader constitutional right to the use of medical marijuana via the United for Care Florida marijuana voter petition in November.
Florida Medical Marijuana Directory
Check back here at the Florida Medical Marijuana Directory and we will keep you posted as Florida marijuana laws change in other parts of Florida and on other Florida marijuana news.
If you would like to search for Florida marijuana doctors or Florida marijuana dispensaries that might be serving your area, go to the Florida Marijuana Directory at floridamarijuanadirectory.com.